School of Fashion Design

The School of Fashion Design puts Passion into FASHION
at the Vodacom Durban July Young Designer Awards

The School of Fashion Design students compete at the most coveted - pre judging for the Vodacom Durban July Young Designer Awards this Monday
(04 June 2018), the theme being

Amongst the hundreds that entered, the talent of the city of choice students was admired, as 5 of the top
30 are students of the School of Design - Pietermaritzburg, Nonjabulo Shabalala, Agnes Batubenga, Kelly Knock, Siyabonga Phakathi and Nosipho Ntuli, The School of Fashion Design is keeping their fingers crossed for the finals at the prestigious Vodacom Durban July on the 7 July this year at the Greyville racecourse in Durban.

We are so proud of the immense talent that
our City of Choice cultivates.

Agnes Batubenga
Kelly Knock Nosipho Ntuli
Siyabonga Phakathi Nonjabulo Shabalala
5 designers were chosen in the Mr Price Foundation Programme
From left to right
Mandisa Dladla, Lungisa Cekeshe, Sbonelo Madlala, Tessa Rae van Rensburg & Sbonelo Sosibo.

Athekosi Mfungula
has been in the SA Menswear Week

Sbonelo Sosibo
The Mr Price Foundation Pogramme, Durban Fashion Fair (DFF) & African Fashion International (AFI)
Designers in top 10: Sbonelo Sosibo, Sinenthemba Hlela, Sinenthemba Portia Nduli
Sbonelo Sosibo - Top 5 Vodacom Young Designer Award
Winners of the DFF (Durban Fashion Fair) (from left to right Leona Pillay, Athenkosi Mafungula, Greg Wallis -
mentor for these designers, Martin John Steenkamp and Claudia Novuka) a prestigious event
which took place at the ICC on 26 August 2017 –
THE JUNIOR WINNERS. 4 OUT OF 11 AWARDS were from the Bhika’s School of Fashion Design



Durban Fashion Fair (DFF)
Three students from the fully accredited (registered) Bhika's School of Fashion Design in Pietermaritzburg have been chosen for the Prestigious Durban Fashion Fair (DFF).
A 10 month program that focuses on establishing emerging designers talent into the co-operative world of the Fashion Industry
10 of the best designers are also given the opportunity to go abroad to experience fashion week in Milan.
The 3 chosen students are:- Martin John Steenkamp, Kimberly Naidoo & Ceri Williams

MRP Foundation (Mr Price)

Five Designers from our college have been chosen for this much sort after Mr Price Program and will start their internship from 1 February 2016. They are : Martin John Steenkamp, Kimberly Naidoo, Zothani Gwala, Lutfiyya Gafoor & Phiwokhule Sithole

Nonsikelelo Ninela from the Bhika's School of Fashion Design has been in this program (MRP) since last year (2014), and has been selected to go abroad to be mentored by an international designer - a fully paid for trip.

The Principal (Priscilla Bhika), Staff & designers are overwelmed with the results and wishes the above designers everything of the best - the sky is the limit.